Amandla Stenberg for Teen Vogue by Solange Knowles

Named one of the most influential teens of 2015 by Time magazine Amandla Stenberg sits down with Solange Knowles for an interview for Teen Vogue magazine. I thought it was a good look to have singer, songwriter, Solange interview an almost spitting image of herself. Read an excerpt:

SOLANGE: Does it feel like sometimes you’re just exhausted talking about it?

AMANDLA: Yo — yes! It’s so funny. I have many white friends who come up to me and they’re like, “Amandla, so this weekend I’m going to go out, and I was wondering if it’s OK if I could wear cornrows just on Saturday?” [Laughs] I’m tired of talking about who can have whichever style. Because I’ve said my thing.

SOLANGE: Yeah,you made it clear in your video. It was so articulate and perfectly put!

 

AMANDLA: But I’m not tired of talking about hair in the sense of it being an empowering thing. I know when I used to chemically straighten mine, I did it because I wasn’t comfortable with my natural hair. I thought it was too poofy, too kinky. So for me, personally, when I started wearing it natural, it felt like I was blossoming because I was letting go of all the dead hair and all the parts of me that had rejected my natural state. But, you know, it’s not like that for all black girls.  Some have their hair straight because that’s just how they like it, and it doesn’t mean that they accept themselves any less.

The ladies discuss hair, comic book, friends and how she went viral. Want to know more about Amandla check out her website here and read the whole article on Teen Vogue.

Snapshot-Amandla-Stenberg-by-Ben-Toms-for-Teen-Vogue1-400x600

Snapshot-Amandla-Stenberg-by-Ben-Toms-for-Teen-Vogue3-400x600 Snapshot-Amandla-Stenberg-by-Ben-Toms-for-Teen-Vogue4-400x600 Snapshot-Amandla-Stenberg-by-Ben-Toms-for-Teen-Vogue6-400x600 Snapshot-Amandla-Stenberg-by-Ben-Toms-for-Teen-Vogue7

CA2.tif

Snapshot-Amandla-Stenberg-by-Ben-Toms-for-Teen-Vogue2-400x600

Leave a Reply

